How to Actually Grow on Medium

There are two paths to ‘success’ on here, and only one is under your control.

Dewi Hargreaves 🏹
3 min readJun 2, 2022

--

Image from pixabay

When I first found Medium, I was bemused. I scrolled for a little while, passing post after post that promised to teach me ‘how to be successful on Medium.’ Interspersed were some overly optimistic articles about freelancing and self-employment, and some tech and crypto stuff that, honestly, goes right over my head.

“Where is the meaningful writing I was promised?” I thought. “Where are the interesting people?”

Yes, deep down, we’d all like to find more Medium readers. We all want our words to be heard, after all. And a bit of pocket change would be nice, wouldn’t it?

So how do we grow our platforms? Easy. Find people who want to read what we’re writing.

How do we do that?

I think I have an answer, but you might not like it.

Look internally. What do you like to look at on Medium? What do you actually read?

I imagine you’ve read a fair few ‘how to find an audience on Medium’-style posts — you wouldn’t be reading this right now otherwise. Maybe you’ve read a couple of viral posts about people’s personal life experiences. What else?

--

--

Dewi Hargreaves 🏹

Illustrator, author, editor | I draw maps of places that don’t exist ✨